Changing It Up

My beloved hometown is not exactly a metropolis. It has taken many years for me to finally start complaining, but I find myself saying a lot lately, “I wish we had more restaurants!”

Now if anyone wants to bring a grand buffet or a steakhouse within our borders, I will be the first in line at the door, but God brought an interesting point to my attention today. As I was headed to a familiar drive-thru and I mentally began to lament that I was about to eat the same ol’ sandwich, God reminded me that there is a three-panel menu at this restaurant, so it is only because of my narrow-mindedness that I end up ordering the same exact sandwich over and over and over again.

Are you excited about reading your Bible? If not, maybe it’s time to change things up. Open up that big, beautiful holy book, but ask God to take you somewhere new. Dare you start into the minor prophets? Could some stories from the kings be in your future? The entire contents of the Bible are profitable for instruction and can make you wise. Let God serve up a new dish for you and let the Word feed your soul.

All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16-17)

One thought on “Changing It Up

  1. Thank you for posting this today. Sometimes it’s easy for reading the Bible to become stale because we do read the same things. Going to a different area is good.

Contact Kingdom Heart Ministries